Spring is in the Air

I can’t explain it but there is something in the air today. The sun is warmer and the snow is melting. I am not deluded enough to think winter is gone but it will have fewer chances to spoil travel plans as spring slowly nudges it out the door.

As I was walking home from the Activity Centre today I noticed a house with the inside door open allowing the warm sun to stream into the house. This is the tease we all experience and start to think about opening windows and turning down the furnace for a few hours to get that wonderful smell of spring into our homes.

Walking as an exercise is great but now there is an added activity. I will call it ‘puddle racing’. Looking ahead I see the large puddle or small lake that has accumulated and take note of the car rushing toward it. The question is ‘do I stop and wait until the car passes or do I race to get past the puddle ahead of the car’. It is a fun challenge to race the car and so far I have won. I hope my luck holds up.

This is the time of year that I begin to think about moving furniture and re-arranging rooms. I buy spring flowers to bring spring into the house. I still wear my winter boots and coat but have witnessed some folks sporting brightly coloured spring jackets. I opt for comfort over style and will wait until the temperature warms up before bringing my spring jacket out of the closet.

My Easter decor has been set aside and will appear once St. Patrick’s Day has passed. There is a large collection of rabbits and coloured eggs to bring out. I take bare branches, put them in a large glass vase and decorate them with the eggs. The first year I did this I placed the vase in front of a window and after the second bird tried to land on the branches I moved it to protect our feathered friends.

The sap will be running and soon maple syrup will be available. All the signs of spring are there if we can convince ‘old man winter’ to take a hike.

2 thoughts on “Spring is in the Air

  1. I am happy to say So long to old man winter. Good luck with the puddle jumping I think with all the snow it will be quite a long lasting season. Oh I will be one of those open window people tomorrow. Enjoy every minute Lillie. Hug B

  2. As I’ve been walking I’ve also had to do some puddle jumping and racing. So far, I’ve won too, and I actually had a driver slow down and swerve away from a puddle to avoid splashing me, which I thought was very considerate. Unfortunately, it’s the pedestrians and cyclists who have to watch out for the drivers instead of vice versa (as I think it should be.)
    We haven’t had windows open yet, but that will come soon. I know that the house needs a good airing–and a good “spring” cleaning, but I don’t want to get carried away. :}
    Have fun with your spring decorating. It will be lovely.

Leave a Reply

