Sisterhood of Bloggers and Travelers

Most of my travelling is confined to my home province of Ontario, Canada.  We have so much to explore in our country and I don’t want to miss any of it.  Next week we are taking two of our grand-daughters to the McMichael Gallery near Kleinburg.  Kassidy is a blossoming young artist and has looked forward to this trip for a year.

In 2010 I was in Iceland with my daughter.  My nasty experience on a whale watching ship aside I would happily return to that lovely country.  While walking around Reykjavik we came across a yarn shop that had a bench in front of it with a piece of knitting and needles awaiting for visitors to knit a few rows.  How novel and welcoming.

January 2012 found us in Mexico.  Returning home we were welcomed by the tale end of an ice storm.  Mexico had been hot and relaxing but could not compete with the glorious sun reflecting off the ice encrusted tree limbs.  I have three photos enlarged and printed on large canvas to retain this special home town memory.

I can never claim to be a world traveler but treasure the sites and experiences that I have been blessed to partake in.

Questions:

Why and when did you start blogging?

After joining a creative writing group at the 55Plus Activity Centre I was encouraged by a fellow writer and the instructor, Christine Peets to share some of my stories on a blog.  I have no regrets about beginning my blog.

What have you learned about yourself since you started your blog?

I have learned that I am not as disciplined as I should be about writing.  Some weeks the ideas flow and I have no trouble writing a post; other weeks I struggle to make myself sit down and write.

How do you think your blog helps others?

I hope that my blog lets others about to retire that there is much to do once the job no longer is the focus of your week.  There is so much to be involved in and you can set the pace to suit your life.

Who has been most influential in your blogging?

My creative writing instructor: Christine Peets,  https://christinepeets.wordpress.com/

What has been the biggest boost to your blog?

The feed back from followers and fellow bloggers.

When you travel, what influences you in terms of future blog posts?

I am always looking for that magic moment.  There is no point in boring readers with descriptions from travel pamphlets.

Are you trying to give advice in your blog posts, just share your experiences, or a bit of both?

I will never assume to give advice to my followers.  Each much take from my experiences what best suits them.

What advice do you have for other bloggers about getting started? What advice do you have for those who want to write more about travel?

Don’t be afraid to get started.  I am planning to travel to Dublin and London next year and will be gathering stories to share on my return.  For other bloggers I would say look for what pleases you and just write.

2 thoughts on “Sisterhood of Bloggers and Travelers

  1. Thank you for your kind words, Lillie. You have inspired me to keep writing too, especially during those times when it’s hard to stay focused. I find your stories so rich, and help me to know you better. While you may be “looking at retirement in the rear view mirror” you are definitely focused forward to find new places and activities to explore.

    1. I am looking forward to our trip to Dublin and London next year and hope I am inspired to write more stories. They may be based on the trip or fiction triggered by the location.

      Thanks Christine.

Leave a Reply

