A Summer Addiction

It has arrived; my summer addiction. I can’t find enough time to satisfy my need to read. Some books are devoured, like a favourite food, in a day or 2 tops. Mary Higgins Clark, Debbie Macomber, Louise Penny, Carolyn Hart. Robert Galbraith and the list goes on. My taste leans towards what is known in the industry as cozy mysteries. Also; I love to read stories of women facing tough times and how they triumph by the end of the story. They are a trifle predictable but authors like Debbie Macomber make the journey interesting. ‘Between Friends’ is a collection of correspondence between childhood friends and family, ending when they are senior citizens. Macomber weaves their lives together and keeps you reading to discover the outcome.

SAM_1758

Louise Penny is releasing her twelfth novel featuring Inspector Gamache and like a child waiting for Christmas I am counting down the days until the release on August 25th. Penny takes the reader on a journey in the fictional village of Three Pines in the Eastern Townships of Quebec. Her characters are rich and quirky; throughout the stories readers senses are tantalized by the vivid description of the food served in the Bistro.

Reading also inspires me to write. These authors create a world that invites the reader to step into and become a part of the characters world. I savour the story like a delicious meal, one to be enjoyed and appreciated. So if you can’t find me this summer; I will be sitting in my favourite chair on the deck; immersing myself in the latest novel I have picked up at the library.

3 thoughts on “A Summer Addiction

Leave a Reply

